Tuesday, June 02, 2009

Royal Society Book Prize

source: via,3911,n,n highlights comments

2009 Prize

The 2009 Royal Society Prize for Science Books celebrate the best of 2008's new popular science writing for a general (adult) readership. The winner will be awarded £10,000. The authors of each shortlisted book will receive £1000.

The Royal Society is grateful to the Beecroft Trust for supporting the 2009 Prizes.

Key dates

  • Longlist announced 26 May 2009
  • The shortlist will be announced on 25 June 2009
  • The winner will be announced on 15 September 2009

The longlist

The 2009 Prize longlistFrom all the entries received, the judges selected first a longlist of thirteen books. From this longlist they will select a shortlist of six books, and then the winner.

On announcing the longlist, Professor Sir Tim Hunt FRS, Chair of the judges said: "We were surprised and delighted at the quality of books and the diversity of subjects, and greatly enjoyed reading and discussing them. In the end we found it impossible to whittle it down to the traditional long-list of twelve, going instead for a baker's dozen fascinating and diverse potential winners. Choosing a shortlist, let alone awarding the prize, is a daunting prospect."

The judges

The judges on the judging panel are: Sir Tim Hunt FRS, Cancer Research UK and Nobel laureate (Chair); Dr Maggie Aderin-Pocock, space scientist at Astrium Ltd, STFC Fellow of University College London and Founder and MD of Science Innovation Ltd; Dr Phillip Ball, author; Deborah Cohen, Editor, BBC Radio Science Unit; Danny Wallace, author, comedian and presenter.

The 2009 Prize judges

Creative Commons License
This work by crabsallover is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 2.0 UK: England & Wales License.

No comments:

Post a Comment